Looking for Consistency? Look for Change!


I’ve been attending  Sanera Business Bootcamp (thank you to our host Alicia Arenas) for 3 weeks now and if there’s one common theme that I can’t get out of my head it’s that life is full of change. We grow older – we change. We buy technology today and within a year (or a week) it has changed. But what about ourselves? Do we change? – Only if you let yourself!

I can’t guarantee that you’ll win the lottery tomorrow, but I can guarantee you this; the one thing that is constant in our lives will always be change. We have the choice to be open to change and allow ourselves to grow, or we can be closed off to change and continue to watch those around us grow and prosper.

I wanted to share with you a very powerful message written by author Gail Sheehy which was quoted by John C. Maxwell in his book Self-Improvement 101:

Sheehy says, “If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we are not really living. Growth demands a temporary surrender of security. It may mean a giving up of familiar but limiting patterns, safe but unrewarding work, values no longer believed in, relationships that have lost their meaning.”

In order to change we must evaluate the clutter in our lives, step outside our comfort zone and demand to live by continuing to grow. Put aside our fears and start taking steps to make changes. Sounds great huh? Not always so simple. Who likes to get outside their comfort zone? Me? I’ve been pretty happy with my secluded comfortable surroundings, but then I start to think about all the things I’m missing because I’m “comfortable” – my personal growth has slowed, my circle of friends is quite small, my knowledge of a city I’ve lived in for 5 years is pitiful, I’m missing out on growth for my business… you get the idea. The number one thing holding me back – FEAR! Why are fears so hard to put aside, to get past? I know I would like to wake up tomorrow and never be fearful of anything again. For now? One day at a time. And for starters, I’m working to do one thing every day that’s outside my comfort zone. Did you know that there’s a lot more fun to be had if you just open up to the changes around you? Trust me,  you’ll be amazed, and you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment